STANYS recognizes excellence in teaching and individuals who have made outstanding contributions to STANYS and science education.

Awards are presented each year at our STANYS Annual Conference.


 Award Process: Nomination First (link to Nomination Form)

There are two types of awards.  One for which, after nomination approval, the nominee must file specific paperwork such as: application, letters of recommendation, an essay.  The other type requires nomination approval only.  The "paperwork" requirements are listed on the web page for the specific award.



  1. A Nomination Form is submitted.  We would appreciate your sharing with us who you are and who you would like to nominate for an award.  We need this information whether you are nominating someone else or if you would like to be considered for an award.

  2. Upon approval of the nomination, the nominee will be contacted to inform her/him of the nomination and of the process.  This will also provide a contact person for the individual should they have questions or need assistance.  Most of the guidelines and applications are available on-line on the web page(s) related to each award.

  3. Nominee or their representative submits "paperwork" if required for the award.

  4. Once the required documentation (applications, letters, ...) becomes available to the committee, decisions will be made as to the qualifications of the individual to receive the award. The committee will contact the individual with the results of the process.



Anton Banko Award for Excellence in Elementary Science Teaching

The Anton Banko Award recognizes a K - 6 educator who is an outstanding teacher of science. The award covers expenses (up to $1500) to attend the STANYS annual conference and provides a $1500 stipend to be used at the teacher's discretion. The award will be presented at the STANYS conference in November.


Fellows New Teacher Conference Award

Recognizes the future promise of a new teacher.


STANYS Excellence in Teaching Award

 Honors an intermediate, or high school teacher who demonstrates excellence in science teaching and is involved in professional activities.



The highest honor bestowed upon a member. Fellows have served with distinction in the classroom and professional organizations. Their leadership and scholarly endeavors in science education are noteworthy.


STANYS Foundation 

Provides funds (up to $500) for PreK-16 classroom teachers who are STANYS members for 3 consecutive years to support legitimate science enrichment opportunities for teachers and students


Champion of Teacher Development Award

The Champion of Teacher Development Award honors building or school district administrators who promote continued professional learning of science teachers.  This award is open to educators with responsibilities for supervising teachers of science at any grade level.




Membership Challenge Award

Awarded to the Sections of STANYS that have the greatest increase in total membership and the greatest percentage increase.


STANYS Award of Appreciation

Awarded to those individuals who have given outstanding service to STANYS.


STANYS Executive Committee Award

 Given to a non-member who has made exceptional contributions to STANYS or science education.


STANYS Service Award
Presented to individuals who have given exemplary service to STANYS.

stanys newsletters

get social

science matters